top of page
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle

Tips for Speaking



Use the cue card as your companion


The examiner will always provide candidates with a paper that has bullet points about what they should talk about. Oftentimes, they will come in the form of ‘who, what, where, when, why, how, whose’.


Example:

Describe a magazine you enjoyed reading.

You should say:

What it is.

How often you read it.

What you learn from it.

Why you like it.


There will only be 4 guides for candidates; therefore, if they run out of ideas, they could use 2 more wh-question words to help expand the answer.


Example:

For the previous cue card, candidates can think about:

Who you read the magazine with / Who introduced you to this magazine.

Where you usually purchase this magazine.


SAMPLE:

Today I will introduce to you my favorite magazine. It is called Hoa hoc tro. Actually, I read this magazine when I was a teenager because it really suits the taste of the young generation. My mom always bought this magazine for me after she went to the market and I would read it twice a week with my cousins as there were a myriad of articles about my idols. I would also read it to let my hair down after long days at school. It was all the rage back then and all of my friends were fond of reading Hoa hoc tro; therefore, it became a popular topic among us. Not only could we unwind, we could also obtain some interesting information on necessary stuffs like exercising or eating out. Even though I have grown out of reading this magazine, it is still an invaluable memory for me. I hope in the future this magazine will continue to be published so that young people could have a great source of entertainment and education.

294 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page