top of page
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle

A Dead Body in Holmes' Kitchen


Watson: Good heavens, Holmes! Is that a dead body in our house? Why on earth would you do such an unusual thing?

Holmes: It may strike you as singular, my dear Watson, but this corpse will prove extremely useful in my line of investigation, especially in a case such as this.

Watson: Let me guess, the murder of Sir Wellington?

Holmes: Your conjecture, though blindingly obvious as always, is correct! An unspeakable and mysterious homicide! Is there any better way to relieve me from the utter lack of energy and enthusiasm for my work which stems from pure boredom?

Watson: Well I must admit I’m glad you’re not so languid anymore, so how can I help?

Holmes: Excellent! I assure you this adventure will find its way into the cabinet in which you keep records of my finest cases! VOCAB HIGHLIGHT

- corpse (n.): a dead body, usually of a person

- singular (adj.): of an unusual quality or standard

- conjecture (n.): a guess about something based on how it seems and not on proof

conjecture (v.): to guess, based on the appearance of a situation and not on proof

- homicide (n.): (an act of) murder

- languid (adj.): lacking energy, or causing a lack of energy or enthusiasm

____________________________________________ Nhằm hỗ trợ các bạn trong quá trình học IELTS, cụ thể là kĩ năng Writing, chúng mình có hỗ trợ dịch vụ sửa bài theo gói. Chi tiết liên hệ fanpage: https://www.facebook.com/ieltscompassion/

65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page